h1

the elephant parade, london

May 10, 2010

I probably should’ve wrote about this last week when it began, but I was busy figuring out what I was gonna do with the next four years of life. Well, I figured it out, so that’s good. I will be attending Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, GA. I’m really excited/nervous/happy to be starting this next phase of my life. And I’m so happy I have this blog because I think it will be a great outlet during the stressful days of medical school.

Now, that I’ve updated you on my life, let’s talk elephants!

Last week was the beginning of the Elephant Parade in London. Throughout London there are 260 life-size elephants painted and decorated by celebrities, designers, and artists. Isaac Mizrahi, Diane von Frustenburg, and Tommy Hilfiger are just a few who participated. The elephants will be on display all over the city of London through the months of May and June.

The Elephant Parade is hosted by Elephant Family and the Greater London Authority. The goal of the parade is to raise awareness of the dire situation Asian elephants are in. Additionally, at the end of the two month display the elephants will be auctioned off and the proceeds will benefit 20 different conservation agencies in the United Kingdom.

How some of these elephants are created are so creative and intricate. I wish I was in London because it seems like such a lovely art project around the city. Below are a few pictures from the Elephant Parade.

So cool. Which one is your favorite?

2 comments

  1. None are my favorite…why are all the trunks down?


  2. […] @Elephant_Parade – The twitter page for the elephant parade in London that I talked about here. […]



Leave a Reply

